Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 17

Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 17

Hello everyone!

Today is a very special day because SeoToolkit has finally launched! It was actually yesterday, but I had to double-check that everything was gonna be alright before announcing it. As I did find an issue the moment I tried to download the package from NuGet. I had forgotten to include the redirects package to the main package.

But everything is now live. Documentation has been written. Umbraco package pages have been created. It is all ready! Until someone finds a bug that I missed (but we all know that something like that doesn't happen, right?).

Changes

There are also 2 very important changes that have occurred in the last 2 weeks. The first one is the change from uSeoToolkit to SeoToolkit. This was a suggestion from Lee Kelleher and I think it is a good change. Originally I wanted to use uSeoToolkit because I could still get a domain for it. The domain for SeoToolkit was already taken. But in the end, I think this is a good change. The 'u' was always a bit strange. Was it Umbraco? Was it "Umazing" or something else strange? SeoToolkit should be a lot better to understand.

And then the second change. I've updated the license to be MIT. At first, I wanted this to be a paid package, but I've stepped away from this idea for now. My original idea was to have a paid package, but also combine it with open source. But in the end, that is probably more trouble than it is worth. And maybe this is better anyway. My functionalities, while nice, aren't exactly groundbreaking (apart from maybe the Meta Fields). Maybe in the future, I'll release a paid extension with some more niche functionalities that'll take more work to get right. For now, I'll see how the package will actually do as an open-source package.

You can also find the release on github here: github.com/patrickdemooij9/SeoToolkit.Umbra..

And I think that this is all for this week. I am not quite sure what to do for the next 2 weeks yet. Probably some bug fixing and working on another little package that I've planned. After spending months on SeoToolkit, it is also nice to take a bit of time away from it.

Have a great week everyone!