Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 19

Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 19

Hi everyone and welcome back to my blog.

This time will be a short one as there aren't a lot of updates to SeoToolkit, but let's get into it!

Interface changes

I've been working on some new interface changes for SeoToolkit. Mainly targeting the content apps for document type and content.

Let's start with the document type. This is the latest version:

SeoToolkitMetaFields4.png

So, what has changed here? In the previous version, there were buttons for each field that would open up a dialog on the right. This has now been removed and each content of the field can be found right under it. I think this is a bit clearer for the user and I will probably be able to do some nicer things with inheritance in the future as well.

And I've also changed the way that you choose your fallback fields. In the previous version, it was a dropdown which wasn't ideal as I wasn't able to really group fields together. I am now using nested content with an item picker dialog. There you are able to choose multiple fields, so you also need fewer clicks to configure everything correctly.

There are still some functionalities that I need to take into account, but this is a big step in making the tool easier to use.

As for the content app for the content. That one hasn't changed yet, but will in the coming weeks. For that one, I am planning on adding the tabs (just like the document type one) and having the option for previews for your meta fields. Showing how it would look on Google gives the user a better sense of what the purpose of the field is.

Umbraco v10

Another important step is to migrate the package to v10. I am currently working on the next milestone (v1.1), but I'll be moving the package to v10 after that. I am not quite sure what I'll still keep supporting/updating. I might stick to the same update cycles as Umbraco. This would mean that v10 would be supported for 2 years until v14, but I'll have to see how much work that would be. I am currently not planning on multi-targeting, but it might become mandatory if I want to support v10 for 2 years.

Very interesting times for package developers!

And that will be all for this time. Thanks for stopping by and have a great week everyone!