Creating Umbraco Packages: Week 13

Creating Umbraco Packages: Week 13

Hello everyone!

Wait a second. Something is off. This blog post should have been posted on Monday, but it is already Tuesday. I didn't really have time to write this blog post last weekend, but I did want to put something out. So one day late, but still here! So let's get started.

Beta Release

Yes, you read that correctly! I released the package as a beta release. So not a full release yet, but very close. Every functionality works (even as I found some quite big ones last week) and should be able to be used in your projects! The fact that it is still beta though means that there could still be certain bugs in there. While I tried to test my application as well as possible, there might still be bugs in there that I missed. Or maybe there are still improvements to be made! I would be very grateful if you try out the package and let me know what you think so far.

For now, I haven't created Umbraco pages for the packages yet, but I will be doing that in the near future. For now, installation of the package can be found here: useotoolkit.gitbook.io/useotoolkit/getting-..

License

Another big thing is licensing. Licensing isn't enabled for the beta yet as I want to have as many people trying the package as possible and I think licensing might scare them off a bit. I did include a license page in the package so people know about it.

The package will also be able to be used without a license and I am trying to target smaller clients with this. A license is only required when:

  • Have more than 100 pages (page is defined as a content node with a template. Items without a template do not count towards this limit)
  • You want to make use of the premium components. There currently aren't any but will be added later.

And also each separate functionality (the different packages) will all be free. So if you only use the sitemap package, it'll be free for you to use.

I am not sure if this is a good license, but I'll see how it goes. In the end, I hope this will help people create their websites faster and with an eye on SEO.

Roadmap

And of course, we need a roadmap. I haven't really figured this out yet, but I am hoping to do the official release of the package soon after the beta one. This will all be listed on the Github page in time: github.com/patrickdemooij9/uSeoToolkit.Umbr...

And that is all for this week! Please get in contact with me if you want more information about the project or have certain wishes. I am more than happy to listen to any feedback about the package or the future of the package.

Have a great week everyone!