Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 18

Creating Umbraco Packages: Part 18

Hello everyone and welcome back to part 18 of me creating Umbraco packages. Last time I released the SeoToolkit package that I've been working on for some time now, so let's see what else has happened.

The stats

First of all, let's take a look at the stats. The SeoToolkit package itself has been downloaded 171 times. However, the core version has been downloaded 212 which kinda suggests to me that something strange is going on with the counting on NuGet. Might be something cache-related?

But I am quite happy with that number. I wish I had kept track of the SimpleRedirects downloads at the start so that I could have something to compare it with. But I think this is a very nice start and it'll probably go up after some updates. I expect people to try out the package, but I think it'll gain more traction after some updates. This is probably because people want to make sure that the package is actually something that will exist in the future. No point in adding a package if it'll not get updated to the latest versions.

Updates

And there were some updates to the package as well! At first, I was planning to take some weeks away from the package, but that didn't really go as planned. There were some issues found with the package that had to be fixed straight away. Especially one bug which stopped you from saving your document type settings. So those bugs have all been fixed in the 1.0.2 release: github.com/patrickdemooij9/SeoToolkit.Umbra..

After that, I started working on the next milestone: 1.1.0. You can also find this milestone on Github if you are interested in what will still be picked up: github.com/patrickdemooij9/SeoToolkit.Umbra..

image.png

There were also updates done by the Github user JVeer who was kind enough to provide PRs for bug fixes and new features. #H5YR!

I am expecting the 1.1.0 release to come out somewhere next month, but there are some bigger issues in there, so we'll see how far we can get with them.

UmbraCoffee

I also joined my first live UmbraCoffee to give a demo about the SeoToolkit. I think it went quite well. Very happy that I was able to come on and talk about Umbraco. If you haven't seen the video yet, you can find it here.

New package?

In the last blog post, I also talked about a new package idea that I had. So, I also managed to get started with that. Although, I am not very happy with the execution idea after all. The idea was to make an interface so you can restrict the creation of nodes on your website. For example, you only want to have 1 settings node on your website. It is not possible to do that in Umbraco. The user will always have the option to create an unlimited amount of nodes on your website.

So, I got started and created this:

image.png

But now looking back at it, I am making it way too complicated. I was expecting there to be dynamic conditions, but I don't think I should make a package for something like that. I think I should just have a simple number field where you can give the max amount of nodes. So, I have some more work to do on it!

And that is all for this time. Thanks for reading this update and hopefully I'll see you again in 2 weeks!

Thank you!