Creating Umbraco Packages: Week 14

Creating Umbraco Packages: Week 14

Hello everyone and welcome to week 14 of this blog post series. If you missed last the blog post of last week, then I highly suggest you check it out here: patrickdemooij.hashnode.dev/creating-umbrac...

In that blog post, I announce that there is now a beta version of the package available and that people are able to test the package out or themselves. Well, let's see what has happened since then.

#Leekelleher appreciation

I just wanted to start out with this as Leekelleher has done a review about the beta and came back with a lot of valid and good feedback about the package. You can find that here: github.com/patrickdemooij9/uSeoToolkit.Umbr...

This really helps a lot because it also gives me another perspective on the package. Usually, package developers develop a package based on their wants and needs according to the experiences that they've had. However, your experiences can greatly differ from other people's, so it is always great to get suggestions about what you are making.

And if that wasn't enough, Leekelleher has also created pull requests to fix some of the issues that he had found. I really just want to give Leekelleher a big H5YR and thank him for all the work that he has done so far!

Roadmap

This week I also focused a lot on moving towards a release version, so I've added some tickets that I'll for sure pick up before the first release:

image.png

There will probably be a few more tickets before I plan to fully go live, but this is a good start. All the tickets are also based on multiple functionalities in the package, so everything will get an improvement round before it is all finished.

The big one here is the redirects functionality. I believe that this is quite an important functionality to have in an SEO package. I also maintain a redirects package for Umbraco already called SimpleRedirects: github.com/patrickdemooij9/SimpleRedirects. So, I'll be able to take some of the code from there and use it for the SEO package. For now, I'll still have both packages available even though they'll mostly share the same logic.

This way, I am also able to develop new logic for the redirects functionality and also port them over to SimpleRedirects. There are already a few improvements that I would like to make to SimpleRedirects but just didn't have time for before. So, this will be a great possibility to make that happen.

And I think that this is all for this time. Hopefully, I'll have some more exciting news for next week. Good luck everyone this week and stay safe!